Strawberry Shortcake

strawberry, whipped cream, cake
Layered white cake with a hint of lemon filled with strawberry whipped cream and strawberry jam.

Is it finally spring? There are days I wake up and walk outside and it feels as though winter is still lingering. But today, today was 80 degrees, and tomorrow and the next day. I think we have finally jumped over the hump and spring is in the air. Trees are filled with buds, leaves and flowers. The cherry blossoms are coming to an end, sometimes it looks as though it’s raining flowers. But lilacs are budding, roses are beginning to emerge and sweet fragrant flowers fill the air all around. 

cake, strawberry, layer cake
Layers of delicate white cake and strawberry whipped cream.

That spring air definitely puts some pep in your step and makes you want to be outside to take walks, start the garden and head to the Farmer’s Market. Strawberries are just starting to pop up, not quite locally for me in Portland but some beautiful ones from California. This is the big kickoff and hopes that summer is just around the corner. I’m ready to start planting my garden, long days, BBQs and endless time with friends and family. 

Sometimes bloggers like to get together, virtually and put together quite the party. Like our last one that highlighted carrots. Today I’m joined by over 90 bloggers sharing all things strawberry…because #straweberriesarethejam , follow that hashtag on Instagram for the most beautiful feed you’ll ever see! 

whipped cream, cake, strawberries
Layers of delicate white cake and strawberry whipped cream.

I could eat strawberries by the bucket, I will sit and pick them all summer long from my garden. The sweetest, and most delectable strawberries in all the world! When I think about strawberries, I immediately think of strawberries and cream, a natural and perfect combination that is classic and never disappoints. I took one of my favorite cake recipes, made some tweaks and filled it with the simplest strawberry whipped cream and homemade strawberry jam. Easy enough for a backyard BBQ or elegant enough for a formal dinner party.  Not fussy,  just a perfect simple cake. I hope you give it a try! I love seeing your creations be sure to tag me on Instagram @CosettesKitchen or post on my Facebook Page. You can find a list of the bloggers and links to their amazing recipes below and be sure to follow the hashtag #strawberriesarethejam for loads of inspiration! 

xoxo
Cosette

A list of the amazing bloggers contributing to our fabulous strawberry party: 

Rebecca and Ruth Bloom @squaremealroundtable Roasted Balsamic Strawberry Pavlova http://www.squaremealroundtable.com/recipes/balsamic-roasted-strawberry-pavlova
Joy Huang @joyosity Strawberry Matcha Cream Cheese Tart
Jenny Kaicher @catgrammer strawberry & cheese danish  
Annie Garcia @WhatAnniesEating Vegan Strawberry + Basil Ice Cream WhatAnniesEating.com
Michele Di Pietro @MangiaWithMichele Bruschetta w/ Spicy Strawberry Tomato Jam, Goat Cheese & Basil https://www.instagram.com/mangiawithmichele/
Heifa Odeh @fufuinthekitchen Vegan Strawberry Banana Ice cream Sandwiches www.fufuskitchen.com/vegan-strawberry-ice-cream-sandwich
Natalie Popkave @beeandthebaker
Strawberry Pie – Red wine soaked strawberries with black peppercorn
 
Emily Wilson @thishealthytable Strawberry Tahini Short Cake https://thishealthytable.com/blog/strawberry-tahini-short-cake
Becca Rea-Holloway @floursinyourhair Strwaberry Milk Donuts https://www.floursinyourhair.com/recipes/strawberry-milk-donuts
Kate Wood @katie_clova Strawberry Icebox Pie thewoodandspoon.com/strawberry-icebox-pie/
Marcia Smart @smartinthekitchen Rustic Strawberry Galette https://smartinthekitchen.com/2017/07/rustic-strawberry-galette/
Mimi Newman @miminew strawberry-jam filled brioche donuts https://www.theherbandspoon.com/baking/jelly-doughnut/
Irena Steinjan @flottelottehaan Strawberry Ice Cream Sandwiches www.flottelotte.eu
Cyn Robinson @betterwitbiscuits Strawberry Cobbler https://www.betterwithbiscuits.com/2018/04/25/strawberry-cobbler/
Samantha Gutmanis @mykitchenlove Strawberry Rhubarb Tart http://www.mykitchenlove.com/rhubarb-strawberry-tart/
Shannon McDowell @rumblyinmytumbly_ Strawberry Scones www.rumblytumbly.com
Michelle C @siftandsimmer Rose Strawberry Hibiscus Mille Crepe Cake
Ari Laing @wellseasonedstudio Classic vanilla layer cake with mascarpone buttercream and fresh strawberries
Jean Choi @whatggmaate No Bake Strawberry Cheesecake Bars (Paleo, Vegan) https://whatgreatgrandmaate.com/strawberry-no-bake-cheesecake-bars-paleo-vegan
Sami Romansky @moreicingthancake Strawberry, Balsamic & Black Pepper Babka moreicingthancake.com
Marianne Madison @my.recipe.addiction Strawberry Vanilla Bean Cake  
Kristina Cho @eatchofood Strawberry Basil Glazed Donuts eatchofood.com
Brandi @cocoaandsalt Strawberry Pistachio Tart www.cocoaandsalt.com
Paula @gobblethecook Strawberry Fraisier  
Enrica Monzani @asmallkitcheningenoa Italian Riviera strawberries salad www.asmallkitcheningenoa.com
Maren Ellingboe @marenkiersti Angel Food Cake with Whipped Cream & Strawberries www.marenellingboe.com
Nicole Perry @amodestfeast Greek Yogurt With Crispy Quinoa and Roasted Strawberries
Marie Roffey @sugarsaltmagic Strawberry Mousse Tart https://www.sugarsaltmagic.com/strawberry-mousse-tart
kate aliberti @kaaliberti Strawberry Rhubarb Pie x
Kate Ramos @holajalapeno Strawberry Pink Peppercorn Margarita http://www.holajalapeno.com/2017/04/strawberry-pink-peppercorn-margarita.html
Annie D’Souza @worthypause Strawberry-Basil Shrub Cocktail https://www.worthypause.com/blog/2016/12/strawberry-basil-shrub-cocktail
Jo Harrington @jojoromancer TBD strawberry pie  
Tia Lilley @hotdishingitout Panna Cotta with Strawberry Jelly https://www.hotdishingitout.com/blog/2018/04/25/panna-cotta-strawberry-jelly
Karen Carbone @whatskarencooking Strawberry Eton Mess www.whatskarencooking.com
Sam Sabol @samsabol Baked Brie with spicy strawberry compote  
Amanda Samuels @figsandflour Shrimp Tacos with Strawberry Apricot Salsa https://figsandflour.com/2016/06/16/shrimp-tacos-with-apricot-strawberry-salsa/
Elsa Hannaford @piegirlbakes Strawberry ginger pie https://piegirlbakes.com/2017/06/10/strawberry-ginger-pie/
Helen Nugent @batterednbaked Strawberry pie TBA  
Kylie Mazon @cookingwithcocktailrings Basil Balsamic Strawberry Shortcake cookingwithcocktailrings.com
Patricia Rivero @cooking.again Chocolate meringue with white chocolate moisse and strawberries. http://reencontrandomeconlacocina.wordpress.com
Denisse Salinas @lepetitchefsb Strawberry Orange Blossom Tartlets lepetiteats.com
Maia Paul @thecookbooknerd Strawberry, goat cheese and basil Schiacciata  
Rebecca Clark @mamaclarkskitchen French Strawberry Tart  
Amisha Gurbani @thejamlab TBD www.thejamlab.co
Niki Smalec @cleanplateclb Mini strawberry Bundt cakes with lemon glaze www.cleanplateclb.com
Jessica @effyeahfood TBD www.effyeahfood.com
Sónia Pereira @thehealthysins Coconut flour Crepes topped with fresh strawberries and coconut yogurt www.thehealthysins.com
Sylvie Charles @justdatesyrup strawberry date syrup oat crumble www.justdatesyrup.com
Kasey Goins @well_fedsoul Strawberry Almond Mascarpone Cake https://well-fedsoul.com
Jennifer Huang @jenniferluhuang@gamil.com Strawberry and Mascarpone Creme Crepe Cake  
Katherine Turro @katherineinbrooklyn Roasted Strawberry Balsamic Ice Cream www.katherineinbrooklyn.com/blog/roasted-strawberry-balsamic-ice-cream
Leanne Combden @crumbtopbaking Strawberry Chia Jam Oat Bars https://www.crumbtopbaking.com/strawberry-chia-jam-oat-bars/
Marianne Lynn @mariannes_kitchen Strawberry Madeleines www.mariannecooks.com
Jennifer Caroff @foodsoulutions Strawberry Soup (savory and sweet) www.foodsoulutions.com
jess larson @playswellwithbutter strawberry salad with goat cheese, grilled chicken, & maple balsamic vinaigrette
Melissa Cortina @melissalcortina Pickled Green Strawberries bavettemeat.com
Becky Sue Wilberding @bakingthegoods Mini Strawberry Lemon Cupcakes http://bakingthegoods.com/2018/04/24/mini-strawberry-lemon-cupcakes/
Cristina Manjon @fortyninefigs Strawberries and Cream Paris-Brest  
Ginger Smith @lemonthymeandginger Strawberry Basil No Churn Ice Cream http://lemonthymeandginger.com/strawberry-no-churn-ice-cream
Wendy Aceto @theciaofandiary Strawberry Tarts  
Clemence Gossett @gourmandisela Strawberry Pistachio Salad http://thegourmandiseschool.com/?recipe=strawberry-pistachio-and-arugula-salad
Bebe Carminito @champagneandcookies Strawberry & Sesame Whole Wheat Pop Tarts with Strawberry Tahini Glaze https://www.champagneandcookies.net
Fiona McCabe @made_fromscratch Roasted strawberry and basil ice cream
Lisa McDaniel @tinykitchencapers Strawberries and Cream Pound Cake http://www.tinykitchencapers.com/strawberries-and-cream-pound-cake/
Kirsten Schimoler @ritualsofthekitchen
Lemon Olive Oil Cake with Strawberry Rhubarb & Ginger Compote, Yogurt & Fresh Berries
 
Ruth Tam @rushyama Mini Chocolate Cake with Strawberry Ganache http://cooktildelicious.com/mini-chocolate-cake-strawberry-ganache/
Jessie Sheehan @jessiesheehanbakes strawberry basil turnovers https://www.jessiesheehanbakes.com/2018/04/25/strawberry-basil-turnovers/ ‎
Nadia Hubbi & Deana Kabakibi @sweetpillarfood TBD www.sweetpillarfood.com
Joanna Kulma @asiakulma strawberry & pistachio galette  
Annie Campbell @annielcampbell Strawberry Pavlova annie-campbell.com
Majed ali @thecinnaman Rose Hibiscus Strawberry Icebox Pie http://thecinnaman.com/rose-hibiscus-strawberry-icebox-pie/
Lindsay Surowitz @weeknightbite TBD  
Shahla Rashid @myberkeleykitchen Strawberry Kale Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette www.myberkeleykitchen.com
Elizabeth Van Lierde @college_housewife   http://thecollegehousewife.com/
Thida Bevington @thida.bevington Strawberry galette  
Kim Pawell @somethingnewfordinner Watermelon, Tomato and Strawberry Salad with Burrata
Kaitlyn Guarini @currentmoodfood Fresh Strawberry Yogurt Cake https://www.aspicyperspective.com/farmstand-fresh/
Anam Khan @anamazingappetite Vanilla Strawberry Tart https://www.anamazingappetite.com/
Denise Browning @easyanddelish Strawberry Brigadeiros http://www.easyanddelish.com/strawberry-brigadeiros/
Mary Kasprzak @blossomtostem Mezcal Lime Strawberry Pavlova https://www.blossomtostem.net
Candace Nelson @candacenelson Strawberry Shortcakes  
       
Bella Karragiannidis @ful.filled Lilac Sugar Strawberry Shortcakes with Greek Yogurt Whipped Cream https://www.ful-filled.com
Donna Shin @bappygirl Strawberry Spinach Almond Salad bappygirlyum.blogspot.com
Michelle M @glykiazoisweetlife   http://www.glykiazoisweetlife.com
Rezel Kealoha @rezelkealoha Rose Poached Strawberries with Thyme Flowers http://www.rezelkealoha.com/recipes/apple-cider-rose-poached-strawberries/
Sam Adler @frostingandfettuccine Strawberry Basil layer cake with strawberry simple syrup http://frostingandfettuccine.com
Daniela Gerson @ChefDanielaGerson
Mascarpone Tart ~ Strawberries & Candied Pecans ~ Pretzel Crust
 
Uschi Ernst @dukkah_queen Rhubarb crumble with strawberries  
Plum Lucky @plumluckypiepi Strawberry elderflower pie with strawberry crust  
Ellen Gray @nomoremrnicepie Fresh Strawberry Pie http://www.nomoremrnicepie.com
Jordan Elbaum @pricklyfresh Strawberry Burratta Kale Salad with Pistachio & Lemon Vinaigrette http://www.pricklyfresh.com/summer-strawberry-burratta-kale-salad/
Jess & Margarita @farmandcoastcookery Strawberry & Thyme Shortcake http://www.farmandcoastcookery.com/blog/
Stephanie Ibarra @ChiPieDesserts Strawberry Hand Pies  
Nilufar Kayhani @lifeasalotus   lifeasalotus.com/blog
Katie Olsen @katiebirdbakes Strawberry Crumble Bars https://www.katiebirdbakes.com/strawberry-crumble-bars
Valerie Six @sixsnippets Strawberry Fool www.sixsnippets.com

 





Print Recipe
Strawberry Shortcake
strawberry, whipped cream, cake
Course Dessert
Cuisine Dessert
Prep Time 30 minutes
Cook Time 45 minutes
Servings
servings
Ingredients
Course Dessert
Cuisine Dessert
Prep Time 30 minutes
Cook Time 45 minutes
Servings
servings
Ingredients
strawberry, whipped cream, cake
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter + flour a (3) 6" (3" deep) cake rounds.
  2. In stand mixer, mix eggs, vanilla, lemon zest and sugar until blended and smooth.
  3. Add flour, baking powder + salt on low speed.
  4. Finally add the oil and lemon juice. Blend until smooth, be sure to scrape down sides and bottom. Batter will be thick.
  5. Divide the batter equally among the 3 cake pans.
  6. Bake for 40-50 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean.
  7. Remove when done, let cool and remove cakes from pans to allow to fully cool.
Whipped Cream
  1. In the bowl of your stand mixer, attach your whisk attachment and pour your heavy cream in the bowl.
  2. Whip cream to almost stiff peaks on high speed, just before peaks stiffen, add your strawberry jam and salt, continue to whisk.
  3. Whisk on high speed until stiff peaks form.
Assembly
  1. Place a dollop of whipped cream on your cake plate or cake board.
  2. Place one cake round on top of dollop the spread a generous amount of whipped cream and spread. Place a about a heaping tablespoon of jam in the center.
  3. Place next round on top and repeat with the 3rd layer.
  4. Spread whipped cream on top and sides of cake and smooth.
  5. Decorate with strawberries and serve.
Recipe Notes

If you don't have 6" cake rounds:
9x13 pan ~ 30-35 minutes
bundt ~ 60 minutes
9" rounds ~ 30 minutes

Share this Recipe


2 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *